meaning

Today I journeyed to Manhattan.

New York City is home to some of the most breathtaking places in the world. I made my way to one that changed my perspective of architecture completely and made me reflect on not only the built environment but the metaphysical one too.

As I walked through the World Trade Center Memorial Park, I came to one main realization:

The things that have meaning have meaning because it was given to them.

The Freedom Tower…

The Transportation Hub…

The footprint pools…

The Visitors Center…

The grounds and park…

All of these things have meaning. Meaning is different from reason. I think that meaning, unlike other observations, is felt, not necessarily seen or heard or tasted or smelled. Today, I felt the architecture and the people.

I hope with my next studio project and all those to come that I consider how my work makes me and others feel. Does it have meaning? What gives it meaning? Everything longs for a meaning.

WTC PATH 1 BW

WTC Museum 1 BW

WTC Memorial 1 BW

Freedom Tower 1 BW

Prayers and love to those that lost their lives on September 11, 2001, and all of those that have been forever changed by the events of that day.

Leave a Reply

